The other day, I came across a charge that I didn’t recognize.  After going down my interrogation list, I finally got around to the last person, who also happened to be the source of the charge–one of my kids.

Usually they’re good about asking first, but this wasn’t a large amount.  Still, I was curious about it.  He told me he bought a sock monkey bow tie, and my immediate response was, “Oh, yeah, of course.”  Duh!  End of that subject, and on to the next.

Later, I started thinking about the sock monkey bow tie.  At first, I was thinking how cute it must be.  Then, I started thinking how nuts it is that my family and several relatives buy anything and everything that has a sock monkey on it.  Not because we like sock monkeys, but because someone we’re related to by marriage is scared of them.

 

It might sound mean, but we don’t scare her with them or mail them to her or hide them in her cabinets to fall on her.  We give sock monkey items to each other and giggle, including her in the joke.  I originally thought it was a joke when she let it slip one day, but it’s not.  Such a huge mistake to let people know your weakness.

After looking around online, sock monkeys can be cute and they can be creepy.  They watch you sleep.

 

 

They bring you presents and trick or treat you.

 

 

 

 

They spend the night with you, on your flannel sheets and jammies.

They’re super heroes and super snugglers.

They’re on The A-Team and aboard the USS Enterprise.

They’re zombies, vampires, and wedding cake toppers.

They can be couture, co-joined, and tiny.

Show some love to a sock monkey today.